What’s PMP®?

Project Management Professional (PMP®) is a credential offered by the Project Management Institute (PMI). It is world renown, globally recognized and proven Project Management Method.

What’s the current version?

The PMI publishes PMBOK (Project Management Body of Knowledge), which is collection of GOOD practices on Project Management. The current edition is 4.0. The 5th edition is in pipeline will soon be released later this year.

Why PMP®?

Government, commercial and other organizations employ PMP® certified project managers in an attempt to improve the success rate of projects in all areas of knowledge, by applying a standardized and evolving set of project management principles as contained in PMI’s PMBOK Guide.

How to enroll?

All interested individuals are requested to refer to the training calendar posted in CALENDAR link of the website to confirm the dates of training. You are recommended to register a week in advance of the scheduled dates

What’s in IT?

The Project Management Framework embodies a project life cycle and five major project management Process Groups encompassing a total of 42 processes.

  • Initiating
  • Planning
  • Executing
  • Monitoring and Controlling
  • Closing

Mapped to these five process groups are nine project management Knowledge Areas:

  • Project Integration Management
  • Project Scope Management
  • Project Time Management
  • Project Cost Management
  • Project Quality Management
  • Project Human Resource Management
  • Project Communications Management
  • Project Risk Management
  • Project Procurement Management

What’s the Examination process?

The PMP® exam is offered as a computer-based test through the global network of Prometric testing centers. There is also a paper-based option for locations with no Prometric testing centers nearby. The exam consists of 200 questions (“items”). 25 are pre-release items, which are not included in exam scoring. The score is calculated based on the other 175 items. Each item has a key (the correct answer) and three distractors (incorrect answer choices).

Candidates who take the computer-based test receive their results (passed or not passed) immediately upon completion. PMI also evaluates proficiency levels in each project management process group from high proficiency to low proficiency in a score report which the candidates receive after the examination. Candidates who take paper-based tests receive their test results and score reports typically within 4 weeks.

What’s the Exam syllabus?

The PMP® exam is based on the PMP® Examination Specification, which describes tasks out of five performance domains:

  • Initiating the project (13%) weight-age
  • Planning the project (24%) weight-age
  • Executing the project (30%) weight-age
  • Monitoring and controlling the project (25%) weight-age
  • Closing the project (8%) weight-age

The exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions written against this specification

Who are eligible?

Pre-requisites to become eligibleCandidates must verify a high school diploma or an associates degree with 60 months (7,500 hours) of project management experience, or a bachelor’s degree with 36 months (4,500 hours) of project management experience. In both cases candidates must also have 35 contact hours of project management education. The application for the exam and verification of education and experience are done online at the PMI website.

What’s the validity tenure of PMP®?

The validity is for Three Years. However if the professional would want to keep the validity, they have to demonstrate that they are contributing to Continuous credential requirements (CCR). To maintain the PMP® qualification, 60 professional development units (PDUs) must be earned over a three-year cycle, from activities such as researching, authoring articles, speaking on project management-related topics, or being engaged full time in project management

Register Now

Enquiry Now

Request a callback

WhatsApp chat