ITIL® Qualification Schemes

Hi and welcome to eQSystems.

The basic qualification in ITIL® is called ITIL® Foundation. It is essentially a 3 day program, and after completing the training on day 3, candidates are requested to sit for an examination. The duration of the examination is 1 hour which would compromise 40 multiple choice questions with a pass criteria of 65% (26 correct answers).

After completing the foundation level examination, a candidate has a choice of taking two different paths, either a lifecycle approach or a capability approach. The Lifecycle approach is preferred by candidates inclined to become ITIL® Consultants, Service managers, Service delivery managers and senior executives in the organization, wherein the capability modules are meant for ITIL® practitioners.

Each of these lifecycle modules have a duration of 3 days and to complete the entire lifecycle modules a candidate has to go through 15 days of training cutting across all the lifecycle modules. Similarly, on the other hand we have 4 capability modules with each module demanding 4 days of training followed by an examination at the end of the fourth day. Either ways, a candidate has to procure 17 credits in-order to be eligible to take the next level namely managing across lifecycle. This course if a 5 day program and on successful completion of this course a candidate will procure a minimum of 22 credits, which would make a candidate an ITIL® expert.

Post becoming an expert, a candidate is expected to implement any of the ITIL® best practices in the organisation and will need to prepare a case study, which would need to be shared with AXELOS. A panel of 2 or 3 people will then gauge the candidates understanding of ITIL® and how well he/she has implemented it before issuing a masters certificate.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Register Now

Enquiry Now

Request a callback

WhatsApp chat