ITIL® Evolution

Hi, welcome to eQSystems and thank you for joining us.

The first version of ITIL® was released in 1989 and the focus was on Infrastructure management. As part of this framework, the owners of this framework, CCTA (Central Computer Telecommunications Agency) has released more than 40 books.

After 11 years of its existence, the owners of ITIL® have decided to expand their horizon from a mere infrastructure management to service management. When version 2 was introduced in 2000 they have coined the term IT service management. As part of version 2, they have released 7 publications, out of which only 2 publications have been chosen for examination certifications.

After 7 years, they have decided to release version 3 in 2007, introducing a service lifecycle and they have identified 5 lifecycle stages namely: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operations and Continual Service Improvement. After 4 years, they have made a refresher to ITIL® version 3 and stopped versioning ITIL®. The current version that exists is ITIL® 2011.

In 2014 a private company called Captiva had purchased a 49% stake in the OGC portfolio and started a new Joint venture called AXELOS. So the new owner of ITIL® is AXELOS.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Register Now

Enquiry Now

Request a callback

WhatsApp chat