COBIT 5.0®

COBIT 5.0® – IT Governance

What is COBIT® 5?

COBIT 5® is the latest edition of ISACA’s globally accepted framework. It provides an end-to-end business view of the governance of enterprise IT, reflecting the central role of information and technology in creating value for enterprises of all sizes. The principles, practices, analytical tools and models found in COBIT 5® embody thought leadership and guidance from business, IT and governance experts around the world.

COBIT 5® provides guidance to executives and those charged with making decisions concerning the use of technology in support of organizational objectives. COBIT 5® helps business leaders address the needs of all stakeholders across the enterprise and ultimately maximize the value from information and technology.

Who is it for?

COBIT 5® is ideal for assurance, security, risk, privacy and compliance professionals or business leaders and stakeholders who are involved in or affected by governance and management of information and information systems.

For additional COBIT® resources or to learn more about how ISACA’s new evolutionary framework can help your enterprise establish a renewed trust in and value from your information systems, visit the COBIT 5® website.

APMG-International will be responsible for the accreditation of training providers and the development of the qualification scheme. There will be three separate qualifications:

    • Foundation
    • Implementation level
    • Assessment level.
Benefits for Individuals
    • Understand levels of IT-related risk and make informed decisions to reduce information security incidents. Deliver this understanding and risk awareness to improve prevention, detection and recovery within an organization.
    • Provide tools for organizations to maintain high quality information to support business decisions.
    • Help an organization to meet with regulatory and statutory or government requirements.
    • Understand COBIT® approach to governance and its relationship with other IT best practices.
Benefits for Organizations
    • Achieve strategic goals and realise business benefits through the effective and innovative use of IT.
    • Support compliance with relevant laws, regulations, contractual agreements and policies and gain competitive edge over other organizations.
    • Reduce complexity and increase cost-effectiveness due to improved and easier integration of information security standards, good practices and/or sector-specific guidelines resulting in operational excellence through reliable, efficient application of technology.
    • Improved integration of information security in the enterprise, resulting in increased user satisfaction with information security arrangements and outcomes.
Foundation Level

Obtaining the Foundation qualification will show that you have sufficient knowledge and understanding of the COBIT 5® guidance to be able to:

    • Understand the governance and management of enterprise IT
    • Create awareness with your business executives and senior IT management
    • Assess the current state of enterprise IT in your department or organization
    • Scope which aspects of COBIT 5® would be appropriate to implement.
Exam Format
    • Multiple Choice format
    • 50 questions per paper
    • 25 mark or more required to pass (out of 50 available) – 50%
    • 40 minute duration
    • Closed book.
Implementation Level

Get a practical understanding of how to apply COBIT 5® to specific business problems, pain points, trigger events and risk scenarios within the organization. Learn how to effectively implement and apply COBIT 5® into your enterprise or how you can integrate components into client initiatives. Attendees will walk away with an appreciation of how to effectively use COBIT 5® for different organizational and or client scenarios.

Following completion of the COBIT 5® Implementation course and examination, you will understand:

    • How to analyze enterprise drivers
    • Implementation challenges, root causes and success factors
    • How to determine and assess current process capability
    • How to scope and plan improvements
    • Potential implementation pitfalls
    • The latest good practices.
Exam Format
    • Objective testing
    • 4 questions per paper with 20 marks available per question
    • 40 marks or more required to pass (out of 80 available) – 50%
    • 2 ½ hours duration
    • Open book (‘COBIT 5® Implementation’ book only).
Assessor Level

The Assessor course provides methods to help guide implementation activities and is supported by several case studies. You will learn how to perform a process assessment and how to analyze the results to provide a clear determination of process capability. You will also learn how these results can be used for process improvement, measuring the achievement of current or projected business goals, benchmarking, consistent reporting and organizational compliance ultimately driving value to the business.

Following completion of the COBIT 5® Assessor course and examination, you will understand:

    • How to perform a process capability assessment using the Assessor Guide: using COBIT 5®.
    • How to apply the Process Assessment Model (the PAM) in performing a process capability assessment. Specifically:
      • To use the Process Reference Model, in particular to be able to use the 37 processes outlined in the PRM.
      • To apply and analyse the measurement model in assessing process capability levels.
      • To apply and analyse the capability dimension using generic criteria outlined in the PAM.
    • How to identify and assess the roles and responsibilities in the process capability assessment process.
    • How to perform and assess the 7 steps outlined in the Assessor Guide. Specifically:
      • Initiate a process assessment
      • Scope an assessment, using the tools provided and the PAM for the selection of the appropriate processes
      • Plan & Brief the teams
      • Collect & Validate the data
      • Do a process attribute rating
      • Report the findings of the assessment.
    • How to use the self-assessment guide.
Exam Format
    • Objective testing
    • 8 questions per paper with 10 marks available per question
    • 40 marks or more required to pass (out of 80 available) – 50%
    • 2 ½ hours duration
    • Open book (‘COBIT 5® Assessor Guide: Using COBIT 5®’ and ‘COBIT® Process Assessment Model (PAM): Using COBIT 5®’ books only).

Candidates that are successful in the COBIT 5® Assessor exam now meet one of the eligibility requirements to become a COBIT 5® Certified Assessor. This is a new certification scheme from ISACA that demonstrates an individual has the knowledge experience and skills that make them a valuable asset to their organization. For further information on the scheme, including how to apply, please visit the ISACA website.

WhatsApp chat
Register Now

Enquiry Now

Request a callback